Sri Lanka, Pakistan and South Africa announced their fifteen members squad for ICC World Cup

Sri Lanka, Pakistan and South Africa announced team for World Cup

The last date for announcing preliminary squads for ICC World Cup is near. Yesterday Sri Lanka, Pakistan and South Africa announced their 15 members squad. Boards can still make changes to this squad until 23rd May. After that, any change can be made with prior permission from the ICC.

Sri Lanka’s squad

Sri Lanka has surprisingly chosen Dimuth Karunaratne as skipper over Lasith Maling. Karunaratne had a great outing during the 2015 world cup; however, he last played an ODI in December 2017. Angelo Mathews is back in the team as he was out with a left hamstring strain. Due to the poor form selectors dropped Dinesh Chandimal. Here is the 15 members Sri Lanka’s squad:

Dimuth Karunaratne (C), Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera, Lahiru Thirimanne, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Perera (WK), Kusal Mendis, Jeevan Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Milinda Siriwardana, Isuru Udana, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Jeffrey Vandersay

Sri Lanka has named Oshada Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Wanindu Hasaranga and Angelo Perera as standbys.

ICC World Cup

Pakistan’s squad

Pakistan too announced their squad for ICC World Cup. Mohammad Amir was not included in the team. Selectors also have shown confidence in Mohammad Hafeez; however, his inclusion in the final squad will subject to fitness. The selector also chose Mohammad Hasnain over Amir and Usman Khan Shinwari. Here is Pakistan’s squad for ICC World Cup:

Sarfraz Ahmed (c) (WK), Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Abid Ali, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Hafeez (subject to fitness), Shadab Khan, Haris Sohail, Imad Wasim, Hasan Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Junaid Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Hasnain

South Africa’s squad

The third team to announce their preliminary squad was South Africa. Faf de Plessis will lead the side to win their first ICC World Cup. South African squad looks balanced with strong batting and bowling along with quality all-rounders. Take a look at South Africa’s squad to fly to England this summer:

Faf du Plessis (C), David Miller, JP Duminy, Quinton de Kock (WK), Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Anrich Nortje, Aiden Markram, Rassie van der Dussen, Hashim Amla, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir

We will bring you all the latest updates related to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019. You can tweet to us at here. On Facebook find us at here. Share your thoughts with us in the Comments section.

About Kaushlesh Bhardwaj

View all posts by Kaushlesh Bhardwaj →