On This Day: March 31 The Day When Sachin Reached Milestone & Indian Journey Ended In World T-20

On This Day: March 31, The Day When Sachin Reached Milestone & Indian Journey Ended In World T-20 2016 Edition As They Were Knocked Out By Windies

Indian cricket fans will never forget the day of March 31, it is the day when Indian cricketing legend Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar became the first man in the history of limited over cricket to reach 10,000 runs mark. The great little man achieved this feat against Australia, the match which was played in Indore. Sachin and records go hand in hand, it is been correctly said you will find the name of Sahin in every record book, such is the talent and charisma of this man. On March 31, 2001, Sachin Tendulkar created history by becoming the first man to scale the mountain of 10,000 ODI runs. The master scored a brilliant century, an inning of 139 runs and helped in India to win against Aussies.

There are only 14 cricketers in the history who have reached this milestone. There are five Indians including the great man Sachin Tendulkar and the others are Sourave Ganguly, Rahul Dravid, MS Dhoni & Virat Kohli. Sachin Tendulkar took 259 innings to reach the feat, however, the current Indian captain Virat Kohli just took 205 inning to reach there. Kohli is the fasted in the 10,000 league sofar.

March 31 was also associated with a heartbreak moment. And that moment came in year 2016, on this day Men In Blue were out done by mighty West India in T-20 World 2016 which was hosted by India. The WI won the toss and asked India to bat first. India has a pretty good start with both Rohit and Rahane added some quick runs and the opening stand was on 62 runs. Then  Virat Kohli who was in sublime touch, played a blinder of an inning, scoring 89 of just 47 balls and helped India to reach a very good total of 192/2 in 20 overs.

Chasing the target of 193, WI didn’t have very good start as Jaspreet Bumrah removed dangerous Chris Gail for 5 only. Marlon Samuels was removed by Ashish Nehra with score reading 19, WI were in all sorts of trouble. But then first Johnson Charles, after Lendell Simons and Andre Russel took WI home with fight back. Charles scored 56 or 32 balls and 82 of 51 deliveries, however, it Andre Russell’s blinder of 43 of 20 balls which denied India any comeback in the match. Russel muscled 4 sixes and 3 fours in his inning of 43 and took WI home. Ball was mercilessly smashed in every corner of the stadium. WI then went on to win the 2016 edition by winning the finals in Kolkata.

About Singh Shankar Mohan

Thinker, Blogger, Content Creator, blogs about sports, finance, e-commerce and fashion, loves poetry & short stories.
View all posts by Singh Shankar Mohan →