Kolkata Knight Riders: Journey, key players and schedule

Kolkata Knight Riders is the one team which surprised everyone from the beginning. Be it their first match where Brandon McCullum went all guns blazing or their subsequent dull performance in the first 3 seasons after the first match. In first three seasons they could not qualify to playoffs. In 2011 KKR management appointed Gautam Gambhir as the captain and their fortune turned afterwards. In coming 6 seasons they won IPL trophy twice in 2012 and 2014. They also qualified for playoffs in 2011 and 2016.

In regards to their current squad they looks most balanced side under the leadership of Gautam Gambhir and coach Jacques Kallis. When it comes to batting they have Manish Pandey, Robin Uthappa, Gautam Gambhir, Darren Bravo. They also have plenty of quality all-rounders. You name one, they have 4: Yusuf Pathan, Shakib Al Hasan, Chris Woakes and Rishi Dhawan. They wouldn’t have the services of Andre Rusell this time due to 1 year ban on him for doping code violation.

Kolkata Knight Riders Match Scheduleimagesource: bookmyshow.com

In pace attack they have Umesh Yadav who is in prime form currently and had a very good series against Aussies. To give him company there will be Trent Boult and Nathan Coulter-Nile. In spin department they have chinaman bowler Kuldeep Yadav who had a great debut against Aussies and leggie Piyush Chawla. Not to forget the mystery bowler Sunil Narine who is batsmen nemesis.

They play their first match on 9th April against MI in Mumbai. Following is the schedule for KKR in IPL 10.

Sunday 9th April 2017 – MI vs KKR 8:00pm IST, Mumbai

Thursday 13th April 2017 – KKR vs KXIP 8:00pm IST, Kolkata

Saturday 15th April 2017 – KKR vs SRH 4:00pm IST, Kolkata

Monday 17th April 2017 – DD vs KKR 4:00pm IST, Delhi

Friday 21st April 2017 – KKR vs GL 8:00pm IST, Kolkata

Sunday 23rd April 2017 – KKR vs RCB 8:00pm IST, Kolkata

Wednesday 26th April 2017 – RSP vs KKR 8:00pm IST, Pune

Friday 28th April 2017 – KKR vs DD 4:00pm IST, Kolkata

Sunday 30th April 2017 – SRH vs KKR 8:00pm IST, Hyderabad

Wednesday 3rd May 2017 – KKR vs RSP 8:00pm IST, Kolkata

Sunday 7th May 2017 – RCB vs KKR 4:00pm IST, Bengaluru

Tuesday 9th May 2017 – KXIP vs KKR 8:00pm IST, Mohali

Saturday 13th May 2017 – KKR vs MI 8:00pm IST, Kolkata

Do comment and let us know what you think about KKR.

You can also check schedule for DD by clicking here. To get information about MI please click here.


  • Sumit (#)
    April 3rd, 2017

    Wow Kaushlesh…this is a good knowledge …. and a great fan following…keep it up!!!

  • Vineet (#)
    April 3rd, 2017

    Very informative