Kolkata Knight Riders defeated Delhi Daredevils by 4 wickets, watch highlights

Delhi Daredevils’ batting

In a nail biting finish Kolkata Knight Riders defeated Delhi Daredevils by 4 wickets. In the 18th match of IPL 2017 played at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium, Delhi Daredevils won the toss and opted to bat first. DD started with Sanju Samson and Sam Billings. Both of them were quick to add 50 for the first wicket and the partnership was broken when Sam Billings was out in 7th over at score of 53. Samson too departed after scoring 39 of 25 balls when the scoreboad showed 63. So DD were 63-2 from 53-0. Karun Nair and Shreyas Iyer got into a partnership for the third wicket and added 43 runs in 5.3 overs. Iyer was run out after scoring 26 of 17 balls. Karun Nair too left soon at the score of 110 and DD were 110-4 after 15 overs. DD then added 58 runs in last 5 overs. Rishabh Pant scored 38 of 16 balls hitting 26 of Umesh Yadav’s last over.

For Kolkata Knight Riders Nathan Coulter-Nile was the most succesfull bowler as he took 3 wickets conceding only 22 runs in his quota of 4 overs. Chris Woakes, Umesh Yadav and Sunil Narine took 1 wicket each. Umesh was most expensive of them all conceding 53 of his quota of 4 overs.


imagesource: iplt20


Kolkata Knight Rider’s reply

In reply Kolkata Knight Riders opened with captain Gautam Gambhir and Colin de Grandhomme. KKR lost their first three wickets cheaply and they were struggling at 21-3 in the 3rd over of the inning which included both the openers and Robin Uthappa. Manish Pandey joined Yusuf Pathan and they started resurrecting the inning. Pathan Jr scored 59 of 39 balls hitting 6 fours and 2 sixes. Then KKR lost Yusuf Pathan, Suryakumar Yadav and Chris Woakes in quick succession. In the end the equation was to get 9 from six balls. Zaheer Khan gave the ball to Amit Mishra. First one was the dot ball. Second one gets DD a wicket. On the third ball Sunil Narine took a single and Manish Pandey got to bat. He didn’t waste any time and sent the 4th ball for a six. They needed 2 of 2 and with a misfield they won the match.

For Delhi Daredevils Zaheer Khan and Pat Cummins took 2 wickets each. Chris morris and Amit Mishra took 1 wicket each. Pat Cummins was most expensive and conceded 39 from 4 overs while Zaheer Khan conceded 28 runs in his quota of 4 overs.

You can watch the highlights of this match here

About Kaushlesh Bhardwaj

View all posts by Kaushlesh Bhardwaj →