India vs West Indies: You Don’t Have to Please Everyone: Sourav Ganguly On Team Selection

India vs West Indies: “You Don’t Have to Please Everyone.” Sourav Ganguly On Team Selection

Former Indian Captain Sourav Ganguly who played a pivotal role in shaping Indian Cricket Team has criticized selectors over the recent team selection for West Indies tour. Sourav Ganguly was very surprised as Shubman Gill and Rahane wasn’t picked by selector for the upcoming West Indies tour. He also advocated the need for increasing the number of players who play all formats. Indian tour of West Indies will start 03rd August 2019 and team scheduled to play 3 T-20, 3 ODI and 2 Test.

What Ganguly Said About Team Selection for India Tour of West Indies

Sourav Ganguly was critical of selectors after they announced the Indian team for West Indies tour. The former captain took on Twitter and wrote “There are many players who can play all formats, surprised not to see Shubman Gill and Rahane in ODI squad.

There is no doubt about the talent of Punjab youngster Shubman Gill. Gill was part of India A side who defeated West Indies A 4-1. Gill top-scored with 218 in the recently concluded series, he struck 3 half-centuries. Where Manish Pandey and Shreyas Iyer were rewarded for their India A performance Gill was overlooked. The youngster also showed his disappointment for not being selected for the senior team.

Ganguly also advocated the need to picking the same players for all three formats. He stated that it helps in building rhythm confidence in players. He added there are very few players who are playing all three formats. He went on to say great team shows consistency with playing eleven and it is not about making everyone happy but picking best for the country and be consistent.

India Vs West Indies Tour 2019 Complete Schedule

India’s tour of West Indies, 2019

Sr. No.





3rd August

1st T20I

Fort Lauderhill


4th August

2nd T20I

Fort Lauderhill


6th August

3rd T20I



8th August

1st ODI



11th August

2nd ODI



14th August

3rd ODI



22nd -26th August

1st Test



30th Aug -3rd September

2nd Test


Indian T-20 Team for West Indies Tour

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (Wicket-keeper), Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini

Indian ODI Team For West Indies Tour

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (Wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kedar Jadhav, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Navdeep Saini

Indian Test Team For West Indies Tour

Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (Wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (Wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav


About Singh Shankar Mohan

Thinker, Blogger, Content Creator, blogs about sports, finance, e-commerce and fashion, loves poetry & short stories.
View all posts by Singh Shankar Mohan →