How Kings XI Punjab kept them alive in IPL 10 for the contention of play-offs?

In the 51st match of the IPL 10 Kings XI Punjab defeated Mumbai Indians in a thriller. Match was played at Mumbai Indians’ home ground Wankhede Stadium. By this win Kings XI Punjab kept them alive in the tournament.

IPL 10: Kings XI Punjab’s batting against Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians won the toss and opted to bowl first. Kings XI Punjab in hope to keep their play-offs contention alive opened with Martin Guptill and Wriddhiman Saha. Both of them gave a flying start to KXIP and added 68 runs for the first wicket. Martin Guptill was out after scoring 36 in 18 deliveries. Skipper Glenn Maxwell joined Saha and they added 63 runs on a brisk pace. Maxwell scored quickfire 47 of 21 deliveries. Kings XI Punjab scored a massive total of 230 runs after 20 overs. Wriddhiman Saha remained not-out on 93 runs.

For Mumbai Indians Mitchell McClenaghan, Jasprit Bumrah and Karn Sharma took 1 wicket each. Except Jasprit Bumrah every other bowler was taken to cleaners. Bumrah couldn’t take any wicket; however, gave only 24 runs in 4 overs.

IPL 10

IPL 10: Mumbai Indians’ reply

In reply Mumbai Indians started with Lendl Simmons and Parthiv Patel. Lendl Simmons was brutal on KXIP bowling. Both of them added 99 runs in 8.4 overs and partnership was ended when Parthiv Patel was out after scoring 38 runs. Lendl Simmons departed soon after scoring 59 of 32 deliveries. Required run rate was rising and Mumbai Indians were struggling. Then came Kieron Pollard and started hitting sixes at will. Hardik Pandya played a little cameo; however, he was out after scoring 30 of 13 balls. It was left too much for Pollard then and even after scoring 50 of 24 balls, he could not finish the game. At the end Mumbai Indians could only get to 223 runs and lost the match by 7 runs.

Sharma duo, Mohit Sharma and Sandeep Sharma were clinical in last two overs hitting yorkers after yorkers. For KXIP Sandeep Sharma, Axar Patel, Glenn Maxwell and Rahul Tewatia took one wicket each. Mohit Sharma took two wickets. Wriddhiman Saha was declated man of the match for his brilliant batting.

Keep coming back for more IPL 10 news and share your thoughts in the comments section.

, , ,

About Kaushlesh Bhardwaj

View all posts by Kaushlesh Bhardwaj →